Health Scrutiny Committee

Meeting to be held on Monday, 24 July 2017

Electoral Division affected: None

Constitution: Membership; Chair and Deputy Chair; and Terms of Reference of the Health Scrutiny Committee and its Steering Group (Appendix A refers)

Contact for further information: Gary Halsall, 01772 536989, Legal and Democratic Services gary.halsall@lancashire.gov.uk

Executive Summary

This report sets out the constitution, membership, chair and deputy chair and terms of reference of the Health Scrutiny Committee for the municipal year 2017/18.

Recommendation

The Committee is asked to note:

- i. The appointment of County Councillors Peter Britcliffe and Jenny Purcell as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committee for the remainder of the 2017/18 municipal year;
- ii. the new Membership of the Committee following the County Council's Annual Meeting on 25 May 2017; and
- iii. the Terms of Reference of the Committee

Background

i) Constitution and Membership of the Health Scrutiny Committee

The Full Council, at its meeting on 25 May 2017, agreed that the Health Scrutiny Committee shall comprise 12 County Councillors (on the basis of 7 Conservative, 4 Labour and1 Independent) and 12 non-voting co-opted members, with each District Council being invited to nominate a representative.

It was also agreed that County Councillor nominations to serve on the Committee should be submitted to the Director of Governance, Finance and Public Services by the respective Political Groups. Accordingly, the membership of the Committee, as confirmed by the Political Group Secretaries and the 12 Lancashire District Councils, is as follows:



County Councillors (12):

L Beavers	M lqbal
P Britcliffe	M Pattison
J Burrows	E Pope
L Collinge	J Purcell
G Dowding	P Steen
C Edwards	S Turner

Non-voting co-opted members (12):

-	Councillor Tony Harrison
-	Councillor Hasina Khan
-	Councillor Shirley Green
-	Councillor Glen Harrison
-	Councillor Colin Hartley
-	Councillor Wayne Blackburn
-	Councillor Roy Leeming
-	Councillor Bridget Hilton
-	Councillor Barbara Ashworth
-	Councillor Matthew Tomlinson
-	Councillor Gail Hodson
-	Councillor Julie Robinson
	- - -

The Full Council also appointed County Councillors Peter Britcliffe and Jenny Purcell as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committee for the remainder of the 2017/18 municipal year.

ii) **Terms of Reference**

New Terms of Reference for all the Scrutiny Committees were approved under the County Council's urgent business procedure on 20 June 2017 and are set out at Appendix A to this report for information. The Committee will note that paragraphs one to 10 on the first two pages of the appendix apply to all Scrutiny Committees, with the subsequent paragraphs under each sub-heading relating to each Committee.

iii) **Health Scrutiny Steering Group**

The Committee has a Steering Group which meets on a monthly basis. The main purpose of the Steering Group is to help manage the workload of the full Committee more effectively in the light of the increasing number of changes to health services. It is not a formal decision making body and reports its activities and any aspect of its work to the full Committee for consideration and agreement.

The Steering Group is made up of the Chair and Deputy Chair of the Health Scrutiny Committee plus two additional members, one each nominated by the Labour and Independent Groups as follows:

County Councillors (4):

P Britcliffe L Collinge G Dowding J Purcell

Consultations

N/A.

Risk Management

There are no risk management implications arising from this item.

Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 List of Background Papers

Paper	Date	Contact/Directorate/Ext		
Agenda and minutes of the meeting of Full Council	25 May 2017	Dave Gorman, Legal and Democratic Services 01772 534261		
Constitutional Amendments	20 June 2017	Chris Mather, Legal and Democratic Services 01772 533559		
Reason for inclusion in Part II, if appropriate				

N/A.